the prism house

openings, crepes, park-sitting, re-potting.

So there is a really fabulous Scottish artist staying with us this month. Kirsty McKeown does not just make art, but she also makes really fantastic crepes. We ate a mountain of them yesterday smothered in jam made by my mother from fresh-picked Newfoundland blueberries. I have never been happier.

Kirsty’s work explores the preservation of memory through text, photo, and installation based works.

In other news, I finished a piece this week. I have been working six days a week for the past couple, and am really looking forward to getting out of the city next weekend to spend some time making art in my parents garage. I have some solvent transfers to do and I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather do them than in this beautiful garage by the ocean.

hair labyrinth.

fuzzy side.

Friday evening we all ventured out to the triple-opening at The Rooms. I look forward to regaling you with tales from the spectacular exhibitions there by Susan Wood, Lyndal Osborne, Seema Goel and Lee Henderson.

Today Kirsty and I sat in the park and talked about art in the sunshine, calmly ignoring the many wasps that seemed to enjoy our company. I also repotted a couple plants, which are happily enjoying sun in the kitchen window. Tonight: stirfry with pineapple and cashews. Life is good.

happy plants.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2012 by in st.john's and tagged , , , .
