the prism house

crafting people

The most relaxing Mother’s Day weekend with my gem of a mom, with whom I spent two days relaxing in the sun, watching fog dunes roll by while sipping wine and knitting. My mother is taking part in the Southern Shore knitting group Kindred Spirits and she’s been knitting up a storm. I enlisted her instruction as knitting is a craft I’ve always wanted to learn. I have to admit that I’m totally hooked.

Knitting fiends

Knitting fiends

Following one of my other craft addictions – paper cutting…

Made this tiny paper-cut for mom's card from beautiful hand printed papers.

Made this tiny paper-cut for mom’s card from beautiful hand printed papers.

To create this deceptively simple card:

Paper-cut card made from various chiyogami papers and ink.

Paper-cut card made from various chiyogami papers and ink.

Two years ago I had Thing 1 and Thing 2 shirts made for mom and I. This year Mom got us amazing crocheted Thing 1 & Thing 2 hats from one of the craftspeople in her knitting group! They were meant to be a birthday gift, but she couldn’t wait, and I’m glad she didn’t.

If I could do nothing but make paper-cut, hand-drawn cards for my family and friends while wearing knitted hats for the rest of my life I think I could be pretty happy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2013 by in Crafting, miniatures and tagged , , , , , , , , .
