the prism house

with thanks

Myself against one of the title walls, with process drawings

Photo credit: Harry Bryan

 

The day has come. The exhibition is finally open. And I would be lying to you if I told you I didn’t spend most of the weekend in my bed gradually diffusing from a four-month adrenaline rush. On Sunday I stretched and made some watercolours in the afternoon light with a beeswax candle lit and it was all very relaxed. And then, we ordered pizza.

I may have said this before, but I am often envious of authors who have entire segments at the tail end of their books to deliver their thanks and acknowledgements. Because artists rarely have such an opportunity, I’d like to take some time and space here on the blog to do so. So many people supported me in this journey that the list feels like it stretches off past the horizon line, but I’d like to express my gratitude to some in particular:

To ArtsNL and the City of St. John’s for their generous support.

To Beverly Barbour and all the folks at the Anna Templeton Centre, for leading me into the world of textiles and for being so generous and flexible with my schedule during this busy time.

To all the people who so graciously gave of their time and talents to keep me fed, give me rides, help me brainstorm and problem-solve, and keep me emotionally grounded during this roller coaster ride: Audrey Hurd, Mary MacDonald, Jay Butler, Jen Cake, Harry & Sue Bryan, Pam Hall, Sherwin Tjia, Sara Tilley, Chris Shortall, Joshua Vettivelu, Meghan Scott, Steve Evans, and Gina Rae King.

To Alexe Hanlon, who volunteered her time to help me sew this beast together (and she has good practice, after all she did knit a whale).

To my parents, who have consistently believed in me since I was a “wee geeber” as my mom would say, for their love and endless kindnesses.

To the marvellous team at The Rooms: the curators, who asked good questions and gave good insight,  Mireille Eagan, Kate Wolforth, and Vicky Chainey-Gagnon; talented designer Beverly Collett; and the tech team whose skills are unparalleled, Will, Barry, Tim, and Jamie.

And finally, to the talented and wonderful Clare Fowler of Clare Dawn Couture, whose dexterous hands made this all physically possible by doing so much of the labour that precedes the weaving: winding balls of wool, prepping warps, and rolling on to the loom.

 

And thanks to my dad Harry Bryan for these lovely photos!

 

 

Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council

2 comments on “with thanks

  1. K. Elizabeth Young
    April 15, 2016

    I was in St. John’s for the first time a week ago, and went, of course, to The Rooms as it was highly recommended. It was an intoxicating surprise to explore your weaving from the inside-out. I may have accidentally told everyone in the vicinity that you were ‘my’ kindergarten student, I was that proud. Congratulations Kailey
    Karon (Mrs. Watson)

    • theprismhouse
      April 17, 2016

      Mrs. Watson! This filled my heart with joy to read. Next time you are here we must have tea! Thank you so much for writing these kind words. It is so special to hear from you after all these years, and over all these miles. All the best and I look forward to reading your book one day!
      Kailey

Leave a Reply

