the prism house

Summer in winter

Weaving is a combination of primarily two forces, a horizontal one and a vertical one. Essentially you’re laying in the horizontal threads, while controlling the action of the “vertical” threads by pressing foot pedals. When I sat down and began weaving these placemats, I believed I wouldn’t ever be able to memorize the pattern my feet had to press. By the end of the first mat I realized I shouldn’t let my brain get in the way of my body. Bodies are clever! Mine learned this pattern shockingly quickly and now it’s my brain’s job to just stay out of the way.

This pattern is a Summer & Winter weave – they’re reversible, so you get two looks in one! I am charmed to mention that two of these sets are already spoken for, meaning that my journey to professional craft-dom is underway!

Thank you to everyone who has supported me in my ongoing learning of this most magical skill – especially you, Katie Parnham, Sarah Minty, Jessica McDonald, and Jennifer Galliott!

 

4 comments on “Summer in winter

  1. SleepyTown
    October 29, 2016

    They’re beautiful!
    I would love to learn to weave

    • theprismhouse
      November 13, 2016

      It’s a wonderful experience! I was very lucky to have found such gracious teachers! If you have time and there is a weaving guild where you live, that’s a great place to start : )

  2. Harry Bryan
    October 29, 2016

    Well done Kailey.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
